MIT welcomes six new MLK Visiting Professors and Scholars

Martin Luther King, Jr. demonstrated [the butterfly] effect in the social and political realms: for if ever one man’s life–and life’s work–changed an entire society irreversibly, it was his life.

CHARLES M. VEST - MIT President 1990-2004


2019-2020 MLK Visiting Professors and Scholars

Rhonda Y. Williams

John L. Seigenthaler Chair in American History, Vanderbilt University

Jamie C. Macbeth

Assistant Professor of Computer Science, Smith College

Tina Opie

Associate Professor in the Management Division, Babson College

Benjamin McDonald

Postdoctoral Associate at The Swager Group, MIT

Kasso Akochayé Okoudjou

Professor of Mathematics, University of Maryland

Matthew Schumaker

Composer and music instructor at University of California, Berkeley


MLK Visiting Scholars Program

Program Mission:

  • honor the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
  • recognize outstanding scholars
  • support innovative research, teaching and service
  • promote diversity at the Institute
  • enrich members of the MIT community


Recent Posts