Thomas A. Searles, winner of the first AIP Joseph A. Johnson III Award

Thomas A. Searles, winner of the first AIP Joseph A. Johnson III Award

Honored for inspiring young Black physicists to pursue cutting-edge optics and quantum research

AIP News

15 January 2021


The American Institute of Physics and the National Society of Black Physicists congratulate physicist Thomas A. Searles as the winner of the inaugural Joseph A. Johnson III Award for Excellence.

Named to honor the legacy of the renowned experimental physicist and founder of NSBP,  will be given by AIP and NSBP annually to recognize an early career NSBP physicist who exemplifies Johnson’s ingenuity as a scientist and passion for mentorship and service.

In selecting Searles, the selection committee cited him “for his leadership in growing the participation levels of rising HBCU scholars in cutting-edge quantum research and for establishing a new experimental research program in asymmetric metamaterials at the juxtaposition of physics and materials science.”

“We are very excited to present the first Joseph A. Johnson Award to Thomas Searles,” said AIP CEO Michael Moloney. “His passion for the physical sciences and hard work elevating young Black scholars reflects on Dr. Johnson’s passion to help address underrepresentation in physics.”

“Professor Searles is a gifted and promising experimentalist and mentor. He is an inspirational member of NSBP and exemplifies the spirit of Dr. Joseph Johnson's legacy,” said NSBP president Stephon Alexander. “NSBP is proud to partner with AIP in this well-deserved and prestigious award.”