Sekazi Mtingwa awarded APS Prize

Sekazi Mtingwa awarded APS Prize

October 11, 2016

Theoretical physicist Sekazi Mtingwa, a former Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory scientist

Sekazi Mtingwa and his colleagues Dr. James Bjorken and Dr. Anton Piwinski have been awarded the 2017 Robert R. Wilson Prize for Achievement in the Physics of Particle Accelerators by the American Physical Society (APS). The prize recognizes and encourages outstanding achievement in the physics of particle accelerators. It consists of $7,500 split between the recipients, a certificate, an allowance for travel, and a registration waiver to attend the presentation meeting.

Dr. Mtingwa is currently Principal Partner at Triangle Science, Education & Economic Development, LLC, providing a variety of consulting services in science, education, and economic development. He is the first African American to receive a top Divisional Research Prize from the APS.

Dr. Mtingwa is invited to give a talk at the APS April Meeting, held in Washington, DC, January 28-31, 2017. The talk is to address “the detailed, theoretical description of intrabeam scattering, which has empowered major discoveries in a broad range of disciplines by a wide variety of accelerators, including hadron colliders, damping rings/linear colliders and low emittance synchrotron light sources.”

Read more