MLK Leadership Award Nominations– deadline extended

/ / Honors, News, Recent Posts


The deadline for the MLK Leadership Awards has been extended by one week to Friday, December 6th . We strongly encourage you to nominate a deserving member of the MIT community.  You still have time! Tips on writing a nomination can be found at .

Acia Adams-Heath
Co-lead, Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebration Planning Committee

To the members of the MIT community,

Each year, as we consider the legacy of Martin Luther King, Jr., we are newly inspired by the values that defined his leadership: dignity, integrity, selflessness and moral vision. Rather than fading with time, Dr. King’s influence serves as a constant reminder of the need to keep striving toward a more just and peaceful society.

Please nominate the leaders who lift us up!

Today I ask that you take a moment to think about the members of our community who, in the spirit of Dr. King, lift us up and bring us together.

I urge you to nominate those who inspire and energize you—whether they are students, alumni, staff or faculty, pursuing their work as individuals or groups—to receive the annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Leadership Award.

  • Please submit your nomination by November 29. You can find more details below.
  • We will honor the winners as part of our annual MLK program, to be held on February 12, 2020.

I look forward to seeing many of you at the celebration in February.


L. Rafael Reif

The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Leadership Award

The award is given annually to students, alumni, staff and faculty whose service embodies the spirit of Dr. King’s work.

Who is eligible?

MIT alumni/ae, undergraduate and graduate students, staff and faculty are eligible for nomination for this award. Both individuals and groups, including living groups and student and professional associations, may be considered.

Service to the community is defined in the broadest sense and includes academic, research, religious and secular contributions in which integrity, leadership, creativity and positive outcomes are apparent.

How do I submit a nomination?

If you wish to nominate a person or organization, please submit your nomination by November 29, 2019.

Members of the MLK celebration planning committee will select the awardees. Recipients will be announced at MIT’s annual Martin Luther King, Jr. event and program on February 12, 2020. If you would like to be notified when registration for the celebration opens, please subscribe to the ICEO mailing list.

For more information, please visit the MLK Leadership Award website or write to committee members Acia Adams-Heath or Catherine Gamon.